The Diocese of Leeds


Wakefield Cathedral is one of the three cathedrals of the Diocese of Leeds, a unique structure within the Church of England alongside our sister cathedrals Bradford and Ripon, providing three centres of worship and learning across the region.

The largest diocese in England by area, the Diocese of Leeds spans across parts of West, North and South Yorkshire, County Durham, Cumbria and Lancashire.

Background Information

Created on 20 April 2014 as an amalgamation of the dissolved dioceses of Bradford, Ripon and Leeds, and Wakefield, The Rt Revd Nick Baines became the first Bishop of Leeds in June 2014 and remains in the role today.

There are also five Area Bishops within the diocese covering the five episcopal areas: Leeds, Ripon, Wakefield, Bradford and Ripon. See below for a “Who’s who.”

To find out more about the Diocese of Leeds, their function and our sister cathedrals of Bradford and Ripon, please visit 

Did you know?

The Diocese of Leeds is the largest diocese in England by area and the only diocese in England to contain more than one cathedral (Wakefield, Bradford and Ripon).

Bradford Cathedral

Bradford’s beautiful Cathedral is a hidden jewel waiting to be discovered. Set in tranquil gardens the Cathedral is alive with a sense of story from its thirteen centuries at the heart of the city.

This, the third church on the site, is over 500 years old, with twentieth century additions. Bradford’s most ancient place of worship is friendly, peaceful and fascinating, with many special features.

(Taken from the Bradford Cathedral website).

Find out more

Ripon Cathedral

This magnificent church has been a place of wonder, peace and inspiration since 672.  A beautiful, historic building – alive with prayer & worship, community events and over 100 000 visitors each year – Ripon Cathedral is here for us all.

(Taken from the Ripon Cathedral website).

Find out more

Overseas links

Every diocese and cathedral in the Church of England has one or more links with a diocese in another part of the Anglican Communion. These links are developed through regular communication including exchange visits, schools and parish links as well as providing funding for specific projects.

Wakefield Cathedral and the Diocese of Leeds share links with:

  • Skara, Sweden
  • Southwestern Virginia, USA
  • Erfurt, Germany
  • Faisalbad, Pakistan
  • Colombo and Kuranegala, Sri Lanka
  • Episcopal Church in Sudan
  • Diocese of Mara, Rorya and Tarime, Tanzania

Click below to find out more about the relationship with each of these communities.

Find out more

Our Bishops

  • The Rt Revd Nick Baines
    Bishop of Leeds

  • The Rt Revd Tony Robinson
    Area Bishop of Wakefield

  • The Rt Revd Toby Howarth
    Area Bishop of Bradford

  • The Rt Revd Smitha Prasadam
    Area Bishop of Huddersfield

  • The Rt Revd Anna Eltringham
    Area Bishop of Ripon

  • The Rt Revd Arun Arora
    Area Bishop of Leeds

Keep up to date

Be the first to know about the latest news and events.

Wakefield Cathedral

Cathedral Centre
8-10 Westmorland St
View on Map

01924 373923